Social Customer Care – 101 | A real life story of social media at work

Posted on Updated on

Here is my story of experiencing ‘first hand’ the power of social media in customer care. Some time back I had done online shopping from http://www.yebhi.com/ and somehow the service went horribly wrong

So, what do I as a customer do? I send email to their customer support….

  • No response for 2 days (In internet era, customers except instant response)
  • Reminder email after 2 days
  • Standard response from company customer service
  • Customer still not satisfied. Sends email again but then no response for 2 weeks from company. Total dead end for customer

Frustrated & pissed, I revert to social media sites and post my horrid experience with yebhi.com on a customer review community website. And viola..!!! Like magic, things move and issue is resolved in 2 days.

Learning’s:
  • Customer marketing team identified issue – Social Media works in Marketing
  • Some one from the organization quickly follows up with the customer and addresses the issue – Social Media works in Customer Service
  • Customer informs the company & acknowledges that issue is addressed – Social Media works in in socializing, word-of-mouth marketing
  • Organization satisfied a customer – Social Media works in customer service

Do you, as a customer, have any stories of experiencing social customer care? Is your organization ready for such scenarios?

2 thoughts on “Social Customer Care – 101 | A real life story of social media at work

    sureshsk said:
    August 23, 2011 at 10:33 pm

    I had a similar experience with Myntra. I had place an order for a T-shirt. Not only did they send me a wrong one but also the one that was of a size much smaller than the one I had ordered. I did follow up withe customer care, but did not receive any response at all.

    Since then I have never been to their site nor trust other vendors around like the one you mentioned. It has left a bad taste in my mouth!!!

    rozycontractor said:
    September 4, 2011 at 7:36 pm

    Shopped for formal wear in HK!
    http://www.JJ House.com

    Spent a total of 100£ for something worth less than half price, paid 10£+ in delivery + 20£ in UK customs?!?
    Photos on sites are not “their own”, so they copy the style from other western outfits.
    However a custom colour chosen by me was not honored, and now they refuse to refund me the monies!
    Called them up, sent them photos of wrong color, poor stitching & finish, imperfect fall of the dress for my daughter’s special occassion. Emailed them for over one month too!

    Total crooks, you relaize post sale, they don’t take any client feedback on-the-site, so you cannot even rate them lowly!

    MORAL OF THIS EXPERIENCE: Never shop in HonkKong based tailoring online sites….especially http://www.JJHouse.com

Leave a comment